## UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



FOR RELEASE May 2, 2011 Media Contact: David Thomas

202-401-1579

Program Contact: Simone Olson

202-401-0961

## CONRAD TAO OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK NAMED 2011 U.S. PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLAR

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the selection of Conrad Y. Tao of New York, New York who attends Indiana University High School in Bloomington, as a 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholar.

Tao is one of 141 outstanding American high school seniors that have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community. The U.S. Presidential Scholars will be honored for their accomplishments in Washington D.C., from June 18-21.

"The U.S. Presidential Scholars exemplify what dedication to achievement and setting high standards can symbolize for all youth," Duncan said. "The Department of Education congratulates these students on their artistic and academic accomplishments."

The 141 U.S. Presidential Scholars include one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20 Presidential Scholars in the Arts. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars appointed by the President selected the scholars based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

For the past 47 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 6,000 of the nation's top-performing students. Of the three million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 3,000 candidates qualified on the basis of outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, or by nomination through the nationwide YoungArts<sup>TM</sup> competition conducted by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964 to honor academic achievement. It was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts.

Since 1983, each Presidential Scholar has invited his or her most inspiring and challenging teacher to travel to Washington, D.C., to receive a Teacher Recognition Award from the U.S. Department of Education and to participate in the recognition events.

The teacher chosen for recognition by Tao was Yoheved Kaplinsky of The Juilliard School in New York, NY.

###

**NOTE TO EDITORS:** A complete list of 2011 Presidential Scholars is available at http://www.ed.gov/programs/psp/awards.html.